Google Drive Keeps Android Device Backups For Sixty Days
Google Drive is now showing Android users how long their device data backups are kept – and it’s been pegged at sixty days. Unfortunately, Google seems to be deleting these backups without warning or notification for users, presumably on the assumption that if a device hasn’t checked in for two months, it’s no longer in active service – and not giving the user the ability to postpone the data from being deleted.
Android has supported a backup service since Android 2.0 Eclair was released, and until recently these backups were hidden somewhere in Google’s cloud. Recently, a folder appeared in our Google Drive showing device backups. The countdown to when the data is being deleted is a more recent addition, and it’s useful to see this appearing – in the screen image above, you can see that my 2012 Nexus 7 was last connected via my account some thirty five days ago, and the data backup is scheduled to be deleted in twenty five days time. This countdown doesn’t appear unless the device hasn’t checked in for a couple of weeks, but it only shows if you are using the Google Drive for Android application. If you are trying another device, perhaps an iPhone, unless you have an Android smartphone or tablet in your possession, you won’t even have the opportunity to see that your backup data will be deleted. And Google doesn’t provide a warning notification or email to let you know either. It means that should you take time away from Android, when you sign back into an Android device, you won’t be able to restore your application and settings data.
It doesn’t appear that Android users can save their data offline using the Google Takeout feature, as the Backups folder does not appear in the list of Google Drive folders that may be exported.
To be clear, the Android device backup does not change data present in core Google services such as Gmail, Calendar, Contacts and Keep. You don’t lose your information, only things such as application and device settings, including Wi-Fi networks you’ve connected to, and apps installed. It’s nothing too critical and some users prefer to set up a device fresh anyway, but if you return to Android after a three month hiatus, don’t expect all of those obscure Wi-Fi networks to automatically reconnect.
SOURCE [Android Police]